Skip to main content
  • Share to or

Dmitry Peskov clarifies: Russia doesn’t plan to close its borders

Source: Meduza

The Kremlin Press Secretary Dmitry Peskov said that Russia has no plans for closing its borders following the introduction of martial law in the annexed Ukrainian territories.

Earlier, President Vladimir Putin signed an order declaring martial law in the four regions of Ukraine recently annexed by Russia: the Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson, and Zaporizhzhia regions of Ukraine that Russia now treats as its own territories.

Putin’s order introduces the maximal level of response to security risks in these regions, and a medium level of response in Russia’s eight “border regions.” This number includes the Krasnodar, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Kursk, and Rostov regions, as well as the annexed Crimea and its city of Sevastopol.

Follow Meduza in English on Twitter to stay up to date.
  • Share to or