Skip to main content
  • Share to or

‘Referendums on joining the Russian Federation’ begin in Russian-occupied territories of Ukraine

Source: TASS

“Referendums on joining the Russian Federation” have begun in the Russian-occupied self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk “people’s republics,” as well as in the occupied territories of Ukraine’s Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, reports TASS.

“Voting” opened at 8:00 Moscow time. In Russia, polling stations for the “referendums” also began opening.

“Voting” lasts until September 27. During this time, the so-called election commissions will also go to the homes of local residents, as well as public places. Polling stations in the “LNR,” Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions will work on the last day of the “referendums” from 8:00 to 16:00 - from 8:00 to 20:00 in the “DNR.”

In the “DNR” and “LNR,” they are “voting” on the question of whether local residents support “the entry of the republic into the Russian Federation on the rights of a subject of the Russian Federation.” In the Russian-occupied Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, the ballots contain the following question: “Are you in favor of the oblast’s secession from Ukraine, its formation as an independent state, and its incorporation into the Russian Federation as a subject of the Russian Federation?”

On September 19-20, the self-proclaimed “DNR” and “LNR,” as well as the Russian-occupied Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, announced plans to hold “referendums on joining Russia.”

Kyiv considers the "referendums" to be fictitious. The Ukrainian authorities warned residents of the occupied territories that they could face criminal liability for taking part in the "referendums" and advised them to leave.

The USA, EU, and NATO countries have refused to recognize the results of these “referendums” and have threatened further sanctions and consequences.

  • Share to or