Skip to main content
  • Share to or

Putin splits Russia's Education Ministry and renames the Communications Ministry

Vladimir Putin has agreed to split Russia’s Education and Science Ministry into two federal departments: the Education Ministry and the Science and Higher Education Ministry. As the names suggest, the former department will oversee the country’s grade schools and specialized secondary schools, while the latter will manage universities and scientific institutions, while managing national scientific development.

Previously managed by the Academy of Sciences, the Federal Agency for Scientific Organizations (FANO) would become part of the Science and Higher Education Ministry. The news agency RIA Novosti previously cited a source in parliament who said FANO would be liquidated in the ministerial shakeup.

Showing no mercy to the federal government’s existing stationery, President Putin’s Tuesday executive order also renames Russia’s Communications Ministry into the Digital Development, Communications, and Mass Communications Ministry.

  • Share to or