Skip to main content
  • Share to or

Russia limits trucking for companies from the EU, Ukraine, Norway, and UK

The Russian government will ban truck transport through Russia for companies from countries which have previously taken analogous measures against Russian freight carriers. The decree was published on October 1.

The ban covers all EU countries, the UK, Norway, and Ukraine. However, a number of categories of goods have been removed from the ban – the government also published a list of these categories.

The decree will take effect on October 10 and will last until the end of 2022.

Follow Meduza in English on Twitter to stay up to date.

At the end of September, Vladimir Putin gave the Russian government the right to impose a ban on transport of goods through Russia on trucks registered to countries which had previously imposed similar restrictions on Russia.

Shortly after the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the EU banned any trucking enterprises originating in Russia or Belarus on EU territory, including for transit. The EU ban does not apply to a number of types of cargo.

  • Share to or