Skip to main content
  • Share to or

Russians barred from entering Poland and Baltic states on Schengen tourist visas

Source: Meduza

Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and Poland’s entry bans for Russian citizens with Schengen tourist visas came into effect on Monday. The new restrictions do not apply to truck drivers, diplomats, and citizens entering for family and humanitarian reasons. In addition, they only apply to the EU’s external borders; Russians with Schengen tourist visas will still be allowed to enter all four countries from within the Schengen zone.

Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and Poland first called for a comprehensive ban on Russian tourists entering the EU in August, citing national security concerns. Not all EU countries supported the proposal, but on August 31, the bloc suspended its visa facilitation agreement with Russia.

  • Share to or