Skip to main content
  • Share to or

Russia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan adopt new statement on Nagorno-Karabakh

Source: The Kremlin

During trilateral talks in Moscow on Monday, January 11, the leaders of Russia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan adopted a joint statement on the development of Nagorno-Karabakh, the Kremlin announced on its website.

The statement, which focuses on plans for unblocking economic and transport links, was signed by Russian President Vladimir Putin, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan, and Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev. 

According to the document, the three sides will create a working group under the leadership of their respective deputy prime ministers by the end of January 2021.

The group’s main priority will be the restoration of road and rail links, and expert subgroups are expected to submit specific projects by the end of February, the statement said.

Renewed fighting between Azerbaijan and Armenia in the unrecognized Nagorno-Karabakh Republic broke out on September 27. On the night of November 10, the two sides signed a ceasefire agreement brokered by Russia. As a result of the agreement, control of nearly half of Nagorno-Karabakh’s territory was handed over to Azerbaijan.

  • Share to or